Endeavour On the Move

by
The shuttle Endeavour in the Vehicle Assembly Building.  Source:  NASA

The shuttle Endeavour in the Vehicle Assembly Building. Source: NASA

Happy New Year, everyone!

I’m back from my holiday Caribbean jaunt, and come Wednesday the shuttle Endeavour will be on the move as well – rolling out to launch pad 34A at the Kennedy Space Center.  First movement is currently scheduled for 4am EST (0900 GMT).  If you were there,  you would not have to worry about blinking and missing it.  The 3+ mile trip from the VAB to the pad typically takes about 8 hours with the massive crawler/transporter moving at literally snails pace.

Hard to believe there are only five scheduled flights remaining in the program.  This mission, STS-130, will be the next to last for Endeavour.   It’s enough to make a hard-bitten veteran space reporter a little misty.

Watch for comprehensive coverage of this and all things space on our new weekly show, “This Week In Space,” hosted by yours truly, over at Spacefight Now.  And join us there for marathon live coverage of Endeavour’s
launch, currently set for 4:39AM EST (0939 GMT) on February 7.  Just remember to set your alarm clock.

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Endeavour On the Move”

  1. Tweets that mention Endeavour On the Move - Miles O'Brien - Uplinks - True/Slant -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ken Weinert, Tweets Tube. Tweets Tube said: Endeavour On the Move http://bit.ly/7rLG4p […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: